Earthscope home
about activities data did you know? news site map


EarthScope > News > EarthScope Science and Education Committee

NSF Announces New EarthScope Science and Education Committee

The National Science Foundation recently posted the following announcement to the Earth Science community.

November, 2002

The full achievement of the immense vision and scope of the EarthScope effort lies in the effective and flexible use the facility's research and educational capabilities and the involvement of the broad earth sciences community. With the recommendation of the NAS/NRC Committee on the Review of EarthScope Science Objectives and Implementation Planning (2001), the NSF Division of Earth Sciences and the earth sciences community have initiated an EarthScope Science and Education Committee (ESEC) to provide leadership and a central point-of-contact for the major elements of the EarthScope project. ESEC will help to develop the broad array of research opportunities enabled by EarthScope and will encourage all sectors of the earth sciences to participate in fulfilling the EarthScope vision.

ESEC recently held its initial organizing meeting at AGU headquarters. This meeting focused on committee organizational aspects, overall science and educational goals and directions, methods of communicating with the overall community, organizing the earth science community for maximum participation, development of an EarthScope Project Office, and effective coordination of the EarthScope facility with science, education and IT activities.

An important function of ESEC is to serve as a conduit for information between the funding agencies and the scientific communities. The earth sciences community is invited to contact any of the ESEC members with questions, suggestions, or comments.
Members of the EarthScope Science and Education Committee are:

Robert B. Smith, Chair, University of Utah
rbsmith@mines.utah.edu
Roberta Rudnick, Vice Chair, University of Maryland
rudnick@geol.umd.edu
Richard Carlson, DTM, Carnegie Institution of Washington
carlson@dtm.ciw.edu
Thomas Jordan, University of Southern California
tjordan@usc.edu
Karl E. Karlstrom, University of New Mexico
kek1@enm.edu
Anne S. Meltzer, Lehigh University
ameltzer@lehigh.edu
David Mogk, Montana State University
mogk@montana.edu
Jonathan G. Price, State Geologist, Nevada
jprice@unr.edu
Christian Teyssier, University of Minnesota
teyssier@tc.umn.edu
Wayne Thatcher, USGS, Menlo Park
thatcher@usgs.gov


Posted by NSF Division of Earth Sciences

Herman B. Zimmerman, Director
hzimmerm@nsf.gov
James H. Whitcomb, Section Head for Special Projects
jwhitcom@nsf.gov

Line

US Array | SAFOD | PBO | InSAR | EON
about | activities | data | did you know? | news | site map | home


Last update 26-November-2002
comments and questions

Line

US Array SAFOD PBO InSAR